Netbeans 6.1 and why I’m a Bannana

Ok So I downloaded Netbeans 6.1

I loaded up my faces application. I added a text box and then tried to reference it. Could I see it? No, so me being a bannana thought I’d done something wrong, but thats because you now have to Add Binding Attribute by right clicking the component and then I could use the componant in the Java code.

This makes PERFECT sense, it saves it loading all the components and increases performance of not only the design view but I’m sure the application itself as there are no getters and setters for things we don’t need them for. Sleek!

My thanks to Roman Strobl (AGAIN) for stopping me from jumping from a tall building (if there were any tall buildings in Chalfont St Peter).

Once I’d loaded up my old 6.0.1 app I got the can’t compile problem (http://www.netbeans.org/issues/show_bug.cgi?id=129316 ) which I fixed by following the instructions there – fine.

My project I was developing in 6.0.1 seems to run a LOT faster. I don’t know why it just does. I have implemented a woodstock Wizard Component, it’s perfect for dealing with complex data entry in stages. In this case a course booking system where you may have multiple trainers, delegates and courses on the same course and multiple courses on the same day. The wizard allows me to make it simple for a user to click through each stage.

I will be adding more to this post as today goes b. It’s now 6:13 am. I hardly slept with excitement at getting my hands on this release of Netbeans. (Sad I know but for those of you who’ve never stepped out of the Microsoft Campsite you are missing out).

About Paul C

I'm gay, I'm a Christian, I play in a band, I eat chocolate (too much), I live alone a part from a cat.

Posted on March 19, 2008, in Netbeans Events and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers

