Sun Solaris…First Impressions…

OK – so having met with Sun and been doing Netbeans I decided to give Solaris a try on my Toshiba Tecra Laptop. (having used the amazing GPARTED to shrink down the Windows Partition).

First impressions.

IT’S VERY FAST considerably faster, booting takes about 12 seconds from scratch, the web is like lightening. Netbeans loads very very quickly.

So I’ve got a dual boot system but I reckon if I run up windows in a Virtual machine it could actually be JUST AS FAST as running it locally. Now – problems, this is actually the 4th machine I tried to install Solaris on, but the others world old and cranky like me.

As I tend to work 90% in Netbeans I’ll go ahead and use Solaris for a few days and report back to you all!  I’m installing updates at the moment as well so this could affect what’s going on.

I’ve not found the “APT-GET” equivalent yet in Solaris being used to Linux. But GOOD JOB SUN! I feel like I’m back on the Sunny side of the street with this!

About Paul C

I am a Senior Java programmer/Web Technologies, Play in a band called Mandolin Monday, I have a cat and I live on a boat.

Posted on March 13, 2008, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What version are you using ? Solaris 10 ?
    Have you tried Solaris Express Developer Edition ?
    OpenSolaris (project Indiana) will be a binary distribution (it has a apt-get-like tool).

  2. Yes I’m using Solaris 10, I’ve not tried developer edition or Open Solaris…

    You know Piku I can’t wait to run a server on this I think it’s going to be awesome.

Leave a Reply

