How I lost a project and rebuilt it very quick.

OK –

I’ve been using Netbeans 6.1 now and its perfect, really brilliant. But I decided (why I don’t know) to update to the latest nightly release of 6.1. When I loaded up my HUGE project that I’m working into 6.1 it crashed good and proper. The whole application went crazy.

So what went wrong. Well I had loaded up the latest Woodstock components because I wanted to use the excellent Wizard Facility. Unfortunately when I upgraded I failed to realise that the version with Netbeans 6.1 is NOT the latest release. Thus my project was damaged.

Now – To make things faster when rebuilding, a lot of times I use a nice grid which connects through to a form to edit the record (you know the sort of thing)….

So to make things faster I wrote some stuff into the Session Bean so that I could move between pages and make sure I was referencing the right record.

Firstly creating a variable to store the record ID:

public BigInteger RecordID;

// note that .my database ID's are all BIGINTS

// Add a new row to a recordset and save the ID

public void AddDBRow(CachedRowSetDataProvider dba) {
RowKey ask=dba.appendRow();
dba.setCursorRow(ask);
RecordID=(BigInteger) dba.getValue("id");

}

// Get the current Grid Row and save its id

public void EditDBRow(CachedRowSetDataProvider dba,RowKey ask) {
dba.setCursorRow(ask);
RecordID=(BigInteger) dba.getValue("id");

}

// Set the data provider to the right place in the database for editing
// note that this will not work if your ID field is not a BIG INTEGER (which it should be in my opinion)
// So you might need to change it to new Long(xx)

public void LoadEditPage(CachedRowSetDataProvider dba) {
RowKey ask=dba.findFirst("id", RecordID);
dba.setCursorRow(ask);
}

Ok so these 3 routines can be called within a JSF page.

Add new record button above the grid.

getSessionBean1().AddDBRow(dataprovider)

Edit DB Row Button on the Grid.

getSessionBean1().EditDBRow(coursesDataProvider,tableRowGroup1.getRowKey());

Then in the INIT function of the edit page that is linked to from the ADD NEW button and the EDIT button

 getSessionBean1().LoadEditPage(cachedRowSetDataProvider1); // The cachedRowSetDataProvider1 is hooked up to the Row set data provider

Lastly

When you save your record sometimes you MAY need to do a refresh() afterwards...e.g


cachedRowSetDataProvider1.commitChanges();
cachedRowSetDataProvider1.refresh();

If you get a synchronisation error this will solve the problem - if not don't bother.
About Paul C

I am a Senior Java programmer/Web Technologies, Play in a band called Mandolin Monday, I have a cat and I live on a boat.

Posted on March 28, 2008, in Howto. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

