Using Netbeans/Glassfish with Sharepoint #1

Good news folks.

Ok this is still theoretical but I can’t see how it will not work

Here’s ONE way to use sharepoint with Netbeans and Glassfish.

a. Create a WEB service in Netbeans to deliver the data you want into Sharepoint
b. Follow these instructions http://weblogs.asp.net/bsimser/archive/2004/12/26/332467.aspx to bring your service into Sharepoint.

You can also obviously use Java Server Faces and Glassfish or even a stand alone application to build an application to control sharepoint using Webservices.

To be honest the only way in a million years I’d bother with sharepoint is if the customer already had it on their site and needed to integrate or have some custom programming.

I am still looking into seeing if we could provide a simple .net wrapper into a java class that could allow a more direct input into sharepoint.

My main problem folks is I’ve got two projects on and one has to be delivered soon (I’m nearly there) so research time is a bit limited at the moment.

Check the article before this as well.

Here’s a schematic just to help you work it out… as you can see by using EJB’s we could build the applications intelligence at the server end. Obviously ANYTHING that could use a web service could access the applications data, not just sharepoint.

About Paul C

I am a Senior Java programmer/Web Technologies, Play in a band called Mandolin Monday, I have a cat and I live on a boat.

Posted on April 5, 2008, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good Layout and design. I like your blog. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. .

    Jason Rakowski

Leave a Reply

