MYSQL Workbench SE

Well, I downloaded the community edition of MYSQL workbench and stopped pretty quick when I realised you needed the standard edition to reverse engineer database structures….after a lot of paperwork and purchase orders I now have the full SE version.

Good Points

It’s quick
It looks great
It has a LOT of options
Reverse engineering the database was faultless and really made it quick for me to do a database diagram.
PDF export is standard

Bad Points

On a system with 2 screens work bench gets very confused about where the middle of the screen is. Us programmers have terrible double vision so we have two screens, one for the source and one for the run. So I had to switch back to using one screen then work bench sorted itself out.

Printing, would it print in landscape? no, in the end I popped out the diagram to PDF first then printed it from there.

Is it worth £60 a year? yes, without a doubt. It’s not perfect by a long shot but runs pretty well. Only other complaint is (SUN ARE YOU READING THIS?) I have to run it under Windoze but my operating system of choice is (SUN) SOLARIS. So the SUN Workbench really needs to work on the SUN operating system since it’s owned by SUN.

 

About Paul C

I am a Senior Java programmer/Web Technologies, Play in a band called Mandolin Monday, I have a cat and I live on a boat.

Posted on May 1, 2008, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

