My application won’t deploy!

You know one of those problems that makes you kick yourself when you find out the solution!

I’ve got this Solaris server running Glassfish, the application runs fine locally, but when deploying it just hangs.

I THOUGHT it was a problem with a slow network, so just sat there waiting but nothing – had the network checked as well. Then one of my guys was dealing with a different problem (Uthay!) and started talking about JDK versions.

The application I had was configured as JDK 5, so I changed it to JDK 6 and guess what – it deployed straight away.

THere are two morals to this story:-

a. Listen to what is going on around you if you work in a programming team as someone elses solution might be yours as well.
b. Make sure the version of the JDK you are running on the development environment MATCHES the one on the server!

About Paul C

I am a Senior Java programmer/Web Technologies, Play in a band called Mandolin Monday, I have a cat and I live on a boat.

Posted on February 24, 2009, in glassfish, Netbeans. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

