Further Ubuntu Intrests — is it a Mac? Is it Vista?

Well it’s been a few days since I defected from the dictatorship of Windows Vista to Ubuntu – I do have to confess going back into Windows once. But that was just to get a document – I’ve not configured openoffice to read Office 2007 docs.

My Ubuntu now looks like a Mac, I have always loved those “scrolly bar at the bottom” thing that macs have. and I was delighted to find not one but TWO of them for Ubuntu.

Everything works faultlessly. Including a printer we have at work which would not install under Windows Vista without crashing the spooler whenever you went to Print. Not only did Ubuntu find the  printer, it correctly identified it, installed the driver and worked out of the box. Actually much better than windows Vista did.

There seems to be an interesting passion amongst Ubuntu users. There’s a strange feeling you’ve just got your computer back. All my apps are still running about 5 or 6 times faster than under windows. Partly because Ubuntu is running in 64 bit on here – and unlike Windows still runs all the 32 bit apps like Second Life seamlessly.

I’m feeling slightly silly though because I was working with Ubuntu 6.10 over a year ago – it was fine but you had to be a programmer to use it. Now I reckon it’s an IDEAL platform for anyone – especially with  the ability to change it to look how YOU want and not be dictated by the OS.

What was strange was when I went on to the Canal World IRC I use a lot to find I wasn’t the only one who has been redeemed.

Freedom is a nice feeling.

About Paul C

I am a Senior Java programmer/Web Technologies, Play in a band called Mandolin Monday, I have a cat and I live on a boat.

Posted on February 28, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

