Running a Dispersed team in Second Life.

I have been using Second Life for a jolly long time, it’s been a sort of wheel without a car, ok I’ve had fun in my spare time but I’ve always looked for ways we could use this kind of immersive environment in business. Especially in my team.

Well since part of my team is half way up the country we decided to try open meetings, but it turned out, it didn’t quite create the kind of “togetherness” we wanted, also, the video of me on everyone’s screen was distracting them from work.

So another solution was needed. Frankly, I’d held Second Life back. Until now that is, they have released a new viewer that allows us to share media such as websites. This in itself as far as I’m concerned is probably the biggest development in the last few years in terms of this technology.

So now we’re all sitting in an office in Second Life. We are experimenting with things like boxes for each task or set of tasks we are doing. One of the problems is that some of my guys get work from customers and others that I’m not aware of. (Unless they tell me) so it’s easy for them to get overloaded with “Can you Just’s”, by having a pile of task boxes I can see by each one’s desk how much they have on at any one time. Useful.

Other things we are doing is using OpenMeeting in Second Life for a whiteboard facility. I have some other WILD ideas that we might end up meeting customers there.

I would like to be able to share my screen with the others so I’m working on that, at least as an idea to start with. So on the laptop on my desk is a copy of whatever I’m doing on my screen. That way a quick “hey guys check this out” is quite possible, and, because the feed would be from the local network, only those in our community would be able to see it, everyone else would get a 404 error!

Well done Second Life, at long last.

About Paul C

I am a Senior Java programmer/Web Technologies, Play in a band called Mandolin Monday, I have a cat and I live on a boat.

Posted on March 19, 2010, in Virtual Worlds. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

