My Macbook Pro broke :-( (well I installed something I shouldn’t have)

 

TRAGEDY! (well actually it wasn’t)

My Macbook Pro took a dislike to an app I installed (geektools!) and went into a slow down mode I’ve never known, to the point the only option was to restore my Time Machine backup.

I keep a 200gb drive plugged in via USB as Time Machine allows me to restore individual files. But doing a whole restore was a completely different thing.

Here’s how.

a. Boot Computer and Hold Down CONTROL
b. Choose Recovery (you’ll see your normal drive and the recovery option)
c. Choose Recover from Time Machine….

Drink tea and wait 2 hours.

After then, rebooted and everything was restored.

 

About Paul C

I am a Senior Java programmer/Web Technologies, Play in a band called Mandolin Monday, I have a cat and I live on a boat.

Posted on August 30, 2011, in Apple. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

